You guys all know how much I love mowing the lawn. (cutting the grass, whatever you want to call it) In 2002, I lost 20 pounds mowing the lawn. Hubby was deployed and I had 3 small kiddos. I would have to mow the lawn in the middle of the 90 degree day because that is when my little guy was napping. My neighbors would stop and say “you really shouldn’t cut the grass in the middle of the day.”  And I would laugh and say, “Oh, well. You know how it is.” When I really wanted to say, “Well,  get over here and mow it for me then.”  So, it stunk, but hey, I lost 20 pounds, so it couldn’t be all bad.

Now, I don’t have the problem so much because I have a teenager to mow the lawn! Woo hoo! Anyway, I got this in my email box about about lawn care for families of deployed spouses. It is called GreenCare for Troops. I just think that it is the coolest thing because sometimes it is really hard to get out there and mow the lawn.  I have heard that some woman don’t mow their back yards for the length of the deployment. Think of the snakes that are living in there! Yikes!

I also remember that on homecoming day of my first deployment there was a wife walking around the pier with at sign that said in big, red letters “MOW THE LAWN”.  At the time, I didn’t realize the significance. I thought it was funny, but I was only pregnant with my first and living in an apartment that only had a tiny, little flower bed where I planted some marigolds. It wasn’t exactly what I would call yard work.  I soon learned, however, why she was carrying that sign.

That is why I find this idea very cool. Thank you to these guys and all the people that support them. It really is the little things.

