Tags

Well, one for the birds, anyway. Word seems to be spreading that I have good food at my resturant.  We have a pair of purple finch that have been regulars. I am pretty sure they are nesting nearby.  We also have a pair of red-winged blackbirds that visit regularly. It took me awhile to figure out that one was the male and one was the female. (That was a slap the forehead moment.) Mountain chickadees have stopped by every now and then too.

But today! Today has been the day of the Goldfinch!

 Sorry the picture is small. Truthfully, I am just excited that I have a picture. I have been trying to get outside to take a picture of these nervous birds for awhile, but the minute I step outside they take off. You would think that they would be grateful for their free lunch and stand still a minute, but nope. I noticed today that my camera has a “through glass” feature. Who would have guessed? It was purely by accident that I discovered it. I thought that I would give it a try and what you are seeing are products of my success. So, even though the pictures are small, I am just excited to have them.

Here is another picture with the sun shining. (It does occasionally do that here.) I have counted as many as 21 goldfinch hanging around at once. I think it is the coolest thing. I love having the birds stop by my resturant. They may get a free lunch, but they keep me company while I clean the kitchen. I guess it is a fair trade.

Note to self:Make sure your title is spelled correctly before you hit publish. Sheesh!

