knitting.jpg

This, my friends, is my first and last knitting project. I really wanted to like knitting. No, I wanted to love knitting. I saw the beautiful projects that people, like my friend at the now defunct blog, Duck Soup, were making and I wanted to make those things. I saw socks. I received socks. I love socks. I watch another friend sit and make socks while we chat. I want to do that. Don’t I?

Nope. I don’t. I thought that I did. My friend even loaned me those speed needles you see in the picture. Oh, they are speedy, all right. Speedy enough that an inexperienced knitter like me drops every other stitch, but that wasn’t really the problem.  I am not sure what was. Hmmm…

I love yarn. I love to look at yarn. I love the way the yarn feels in my hands. I would just buy yarn to sit in my house to make me look like a knitter if it wouldn’t be just a big waste of money.

The other day I brought the knitting out again. I just wanted to make sure that I could cast on, knit, purl, and bind off. Yep, I can still do those things. That was all I needed to know. Does that make me a knitter? No? Bummer. I so wanted to be one too. *sigh*

Well, that was fleeting. I feel so much better. I am off to practice my piano! 🙂

