What is it about your hubby coming home from a deployment and all of the sudden you are broke? Does adding one person into the household really make that much of a difference on your checkbook? In a word, yes. I won’t go into all the craziness of military pay while they are gone, but let’s just say that while he was gone I had enough to grab myself a coffee at the little coffee stand down the street or a have dinner out with a neighbor. Gone are those days.

Ok. To be honest we did purchase the hubby a new car. Well, not new, but new to us anyway. He loves this car. He loves it because it is sporty. I love it because I don’t have to get up at 5 AM to take him to work anymore. Gone are the days of driving to the base twice a day. Wee ha! If that means that my checkbook is a little lighter, I amย fine with it.

So, where am I going with all this? Right. Coupons. I used to be great at coupon shopping. Then, I slacked off. I got tired of the work because it is work. If you really want to save money with coupons you have to plan. It takes a couple hours of work a week to really save. Sure, you can save a $1.00 with a coupon here and there, but that isn’t worth it for me. If I am going to do it, I am going to do it big. So, I started. Again.ย  I don’t participate in theย helper that circles around on the internet. It does save time for those that don’t have it, but it is the cheapskate in me. I can’t pay someone to do something that I can do for myself.

My best shopping trip was a couple of weeks ago. I spent $29.00 and got $175.00 worth of groceries. I should say that this was all on just a few products. I couldn’t feed my family for a week with these foods unless they wanted to eat granola bars and Life cereal for two weeks, but I do have enough granola bars to last me until spring. Coupon shopping requires a stock pile. So, right now I am spending more on groceries than I normally would, but it will all even out in a couple of months.

I still have a lot to learn though. I have a friend at church who is a master. I don’t think she has paid for toothpaste in the last couple of years. I am learning a lot from her. So, I will do my coupon shopping and then take lessons from her too. Maybe I will save enough each month to make that car payment without holding my breath and closing my eyes.

