I have been tagged by Donna to write my homeschooling MeMe. I enjoy reading how other homeschoolers started homeschooling. I am pretty sure that my story is not original, but I am glad that I get to share it with you anyway.

My oldest son has always been very inquisitive. When he was two I spent a lot of time on the internet trying to find ways to keep him engaged. It wasn’t easy to do. I found one website about homeschooling preschoolers. The website was wonderful and gave me all kinds of ideas. She has been offline for a long time now, unfortunately. She was a fabulous resource. Anyway, the thought of homeschooling my son for more than just preschool wouldn’t go away. I knew that I could do it and I really didn’t want to send him to school. I kind of liked having him around.

We did end up homeschooling him for Kindergarten, and it was a lot of fun. We ended up moving out of the state after that year and my husband thought it would be a good idea to put him in school. I didn’t really care for the idea too much, but we did put him in school. He did very well in school, but he didn’t thrive. He was a teacher’s dream student. He didn’t want to get in trouble. He was reading fluently, and did everything that was asked of him. The next year my daughter went to Kindergarten and my son went into second grade. I didn’t like that year at all. I was still reading everything I could on homeschooling and I knew that I could still do it. The kids finished that year in school before we decided to go it on our own. We are going into our 6th year now. Where does time go?  

It is good to look back and remember how we started. I have a hard time at the end of every year. I wonder if I can still do it. I have 3 children school age now, and it does seem to get more challenging. Yet, with more challenges come greater rewards, right? Thank you, Donna, for the walk down memory lane. That was fun.

