Pizza Dough

1 cup warm water

1 pkg. yeast

2 1/2 cups flour (I use bread flour, but it isn’t necessary)

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. sugar

2 Tbs. vegtable oil (I have used olive oil too. I can’t decide what I prefer.)

Cornmeal

Dissolve the yeast in warm water. Add the sugar and give it a minute or two to get active. Add the oil, salt, and flour. I add flour until it is workable and then I knead the rest of it in.

Allow the dough to rest for 10 minutes. This isn’t necessary, but it gives the gluten a chance to relax and makes the dough much easier to handle.

I cook my pizzas on stones. I will rub a little olive oil on the stone (allow I know they say not to do that) and generously sprinkle cornmeal over the stone. If you can manage to roll the dough out and lay it on the stone. I have messed up before and had to roll it out on the stone. It works, but the cornmeal isn’t as evenly spread. You don’t have to use the cornmeal, but my family likes it.

You can even stuff the crust. I have rolled cheese into the crust before. It is good. It doesn’t look like those pizza commercials, but if I am in a good mood, I will waste the time to do that.

It is also fairly easy to make a butter/garlic dipping sauce. Just melt some butter and add generous amounts of garlic powder or minced garlic. Parmesan cheese is good in it too. It isn’t quite as creamy as the stuff that comes with your take out pizza, but it makes my kids happy.

I bet this would freeze well, but I have never tried it. If anyone tries it, let me know how it works. Thanks!

